The schizophrenic Architect

Architectural Uncanny

 

Found location. Architectural structure near Holyrood. I’m not sure if my interest here is apparent. The window placement, only slightly out of sync with each other put me in mind of an extract I read in The Architectural Uncanny by Anthony Vidler. There was a story of a gentlemen who built his own house. He surveyed the land he had and chose his location carefully with much deliberation. Once selected he stood in the middle as the walls were erected around him exactly where he wanted them. Once walled in he placed interior walls, windows, doors and stairs exactly where he wanted them. The end result was his perfect home, but from the outside it was a monstrous creation, with no doorways the same size and windows placed sporadically across the walls. Now I understand that the alignment of this structure can’t really be construed as a monstrous form of architecture but I made this connection the instant I saw it and feel like this could be a route I may well undertake.

Leave a Reply

