The beginning

Taking the advice of a tutor I took a walk. I explored the surroundings. The built environment is a huge part of my practice, it is my subject matter. Finding several locations that grabbed my attentions, some not instantly, I began to create a portfolio of images to work from. Mostly derelict buildings or structures not used for their original purpose. There the sort of structures that make me want to explore in depth the histories and memories of buildings. Its amazing to see a form of decay or change in something that, when constructed, is considered to be a permanent unchanging thing. However change happens quite freely to these things. The idea of the ‘ruin’ has been quite highly theorized so there is a lot of material to gauge my work against.

Leave a Reply

